Lana Del Rey Premieres “Ride” Video & Prepares Paradise Edition of “Born To Die”

When we reviewed Lana Del Rey’s debut album Born To Die we mentioned that the album was a great release to put a dent in the first quarter of 2012 (click here to read the review in its entirety). With the re-release of the record coming out in a Paradise Edition, filled with nine new tracks and coming out on November 13th, it looks like it’ll also provide the latter half of the year with a cinematic soundtrack to die for. Not only is there a string heavy cover of the standard “Blue Velvet” (popularized by Bobby VintonTony Bennett, and an 80’s revival by Angelo Badalamenti in the David Lynch movie by the same name) that was featured in an H&M commercial, but the lead single of the project, Rick Rubinproduced “Ride”, features a brilliantly emotional music video clocking in at just over ten minutes.

A voiceover starts and ends the production and remains poetic through it all but the most haunting and, well, most Del Rey is toward the conclusion of the visual in which she states “I believe in the country America used to be. I believe in the person I want to become. I believe in the freedom of the open road. And my motto is the same as ever, I believe in the kindness of strangers. And when I’m at war with myself…I ride. I Just ride.” 

Sexualized pinball scenes, a tire swing you’d die to spend a few minutes on, and a bunch of lovers and bikers fill the video and places yet another staple in absolute flawlessness and attention to nostalgic and somber attitude that Lana Del Rey’s music and visual accompaniments have become.

Born to Die: Paradise Edition tracklisting
1. Ride
2. American
3. Cola (Pussy)
4. Body Electric
5. Blue Velvet
6. Gods & Monsters
7. Yayo
8. Bel Air
9. Burning Desire (iTunes Bonus Track)

Purchase “Ride” [iTunes]

About 2020k | RJ Kozain
This entry was posted in Sine Wave, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lana Del Rey Premieres “Ride” Video & Prepares Paradise Edition of “Born To Die”

  1. Pingback: Album Review: Lana Del Rey – Born To Die | 2020k

  2. Pingback: Album Review: Lana Del Rey – Paradise | 2020k

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s